Fern * Popular Good with DogsPotties on a leashHousetrainedCrate TrainedNot good in apartmentsLikes to ride in the carNeeds a fenced yard
Gender: Female Age: 1 - 2 years Status: Available

Hello! My name is Fern and I am a 17-pound, approximately two-year-old little girl with lots of personality. When I first came to my foster home, I swaggered inside like I owned the place. I am not shy or timid at all. I introduced myself to the resident dogs right away and now we are good friends. I greet our visitors with great enthusiasm, too. I’m so pleased to see everyone!

I do love to play. There is another beagle in my foster home and we play until we’re worn out. The toys don’t stay in the toy box very long with me around. But if another dog takes my toy when I’m not looking, I will complain very loudly so it knows that’s not okay!

I also love to cuddle, be petted and nap. One of my favorite activities after all of that playtime is to curl up with the resident beagle for a quick siesta. I definitely like my naps. I do sleep all night in the bed and I burrow under the covers like a little mole.

I have an unusual bark, too. Some beagles will bay. I like to squeal, especially when I see a squirrel in the backyard. But I don’t bark excessively. I also don’t mind going outside in the rain - I’ll gladly go outside anytime to sniff out all those great scents!

Because I can be energetic (I can jump pretty high for such a small dog) I really need a tall, fenced-in yard. I don’t think an invisible fence would contain me. I can run like the wind. I am housebroken, but I can have an accident if no one is paying attention to my outside time. Before I arrived at my foster home, I lived with my rescuer who had a doggy door. I learned to use it whenever I wanted outside.

I do very well in the crate and I am crated while my foster parents work. I usually get a stuffed Kong which entices me inside and when that’s empty, I lay down and sleep. I am quite vocal when I hear them arrive home, however. I would do better in a single family home rather than an apartment because of that.

I have not been around any cats so I cannot say if I would be good with them. I would probably want to play! Also, I would not be good with small children as I can get a bit mouthy when I’m excited. My foster mom is working with me so I don’t “play nibble” on people’s hands. I am coming along.

I have a great zest for life and I’m an adorable, happy-go-lucky little pup. I love people and other dogs. I’m going to be a wonderful addition to my forever family. I can’t wait to meet them!!

NOTE: Dogs may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).